In its sixth year the Annual Teacher Appreciation Celebration, coordinated by the College of Education and in partnership with local businesses, strives to recognize dedicated P-12 teachers and up-and-coming teacher candidates. This year’s Teacher Appreciation awards, in a variety of categories, have been presented virtually.

Future educators awards went to Kaitlyn Eastin, a graduate student pursuing her master’s degree in Secondary Education/Math; the undergraduate award was presented to Richard Hendricks, an Elementary Education major.

The 2020 Alumna of the Year was Hunter Zanardi. She is an Instructional Specialist / RTI2 Interventionist at Algood Elementary providing a multi-tiered approach to assisting students with their learning, social, and behavioral needs.

Current P-12 educators were recognized in numerous categories, from art education to administration. A complete list is available on the college’s website,