Announcing the 2022-23 CSW Award Winners


Congratulations to the winners of the 2022-2023 Commission on the Status of Women Awards!

Commission on the Status of Women Excellence Award: Dr. Ann N. Hellman

Alison Piepmeier Outstanding Student Award: Lizarayne Herrington

About the Awards:
The CSW Excellence Award: This award is presented annually to an individual employed by Tennessee Tech University who has contributed significantly to gender equity. The award honors three qualities that characterize the tradition of women’s leadership at Tech: perseverance, generosity, and mentorship. The award celebrates the efforts of Tennessee Tech employees to provide ongoing leadership and mentoring for the campus community and work towards gender equity for all.

The Alison Piepmeier Outstanding Student Award: This award celebrates Peipmeier’s legacy of fierce feminism by recognizing an exceptional Tennessee Tech student whose research, activism and/or outreach advances gender equity. It acknowledges a student who shows a passion for learning, goes the extra mile to assist others, and contributes significantly to campus and/or the local community.