Department of Chemistry Well-Represented at SERMACS


Twelve chemistry students and three faculty members represented Tennessee Tech at the annual Southeastern Regional Meeting of the American Chemical Society, October 25-29, in Durham, North Carolina. This meeting featured a diverse program of researchers from all disciplines of chemistry.

Dr. Wilson Gichuhi and Dr. Kyle Murphy presented their research and Dr. Amanda Carroll attended as chair of the American Chemical Society Committee on Education and chair of the Undergraduate Student Advisory Board.

Four graduate students presented their research. Dr. Andrew Callender advised Busoloa Olope and Oluwasola Ifedayo. Dr. Gichuhi advised Dushmantha Abeyaooriya and Nolan White.

Eight undergraduate students presented their research. Those mentored by Dr. Murphy are Iroda Abdullaeva, Wesley Gibson and Danielle Ferguson. Dr. Gichuhi advised Jonathan Dupuy. Students mentored by Dr. Cojocaru are Sarah Beshara, Will Collier, and Diana Popa. Mitchell Swann was advised by Dr. Ranil Gurusinghe.

What a wonderful representation by our faculty and students in chemistry! Wings up for all of your hard work!