Tech honors eight with outstanding alumni awards

Eight Tennessee Tech graduates were honored Feb. 5 at this year’s outstanding alumni awards, held at Cookeville’s Leslie Town Centre.

Each of the university’s six colleges, the Whitson-Hester School of Nursing and the athletics program annually select one alumnus to receive the honor, based on their achievements, support of and commitment to TTU.

This year, Davis Watts, a banker from Cookeville, was honored by the College of Agriculture & Human Ecology.

The College of Arts & Sciences recognized Marc Norman, professor of earth sciences at Australian National University in Canberra, Australia.

Gail Fields, an orthopedic surgeon from Blackfoot, Idaho, received the athletics award.

The College of Business recognized Charlotte Swafford, a vice president and treasurer for National HealthCare Corporation in Murfreesboro.

Grant Swallows, a high school principal, is the outstanding alumnus from the College of Education.

Trudy Harper, an adjunct professor of electrical and computer engineering at TTU, received the award from the College of Engineering.

Karen Ford Joyce, a nurse practitioner from Cookeville, was recognized by the Whitson-Hester School of Nursing.

The College of Interdisciplinary Studies recognized Cynthia Moore Humble, a retired non-profit volunteer manager from Campbellsville, Kentucky.

Nominations for future awards can be made at

comments powered by Disqus